Mission Leadership Council

The Mission Priority Examen conducted by LMU during the 2017-2018 academic year identified a need for greater integration of existing mission-based units. The external visiting team praised LMU's investments, financial and human, in centers and institutes that advance LMU's mission. At the same time, the team observed that the decentralized organization of these units threatens to undermine their overall effectiveness and influence. The visiting team specifically noted the uneven integration of mission-based programs and initiatives, commenting that those responsible for implementation [of LMU's mission priorities] should work with and foster a re-thinking of the numerous programs, centers, and institutes.

Based on the recommendations of our Mission Examen Steering Committee -- arrived at in consultation with our faculty, staff, administrative, and Trustee leadership -- and best practices at other Catholic universities, we seek greater collaborative efforts toward integrating mission-focused activities across the university. In 2019, President Timothy Law Snyder established a standing Mission Leadership Council, chaired by Vice President for Mission and Ministry John Sebastian. The committee meets at least twice per semester and has as its charge:

  1. implementing the action items identified through the Mission Priority Examen and evaluating process in 2017-2018;
  2. coordinating the articulation of LMU's Catholic identity and Jesuit, Marymount, and CSJ charisms to a broad array of constituents, including students, faculty, staff, administrators, alumni, and trustees;
  3. promoting Ignatian ways of proceeding that extend beyond jargon to a rich understanding of Ignatian pedagogy, the Spiritual Exercises, and the Catholic intellectual and social traditions;
  4. planning campus-wide programs that emphasize LMU's mission and identity, such as Mission Day and Ignatian Heritage Month; and
  5. serving as an advisory body to the Office of Mission and Ministry. 

Committee Membership (name of the current incumbent in parentheses)

Vice President for Mission and Ministry -- Chair (John Sebastian)

Associate Vice President for Mission and Ministry (Rev. Marc Reeves, SJ)

Director of Mission and Identity Programs (Katherine Brown)

Director of Campus Ministry (Rev. James Erps, SJ)

Director of the Center for Ignatian Spirituality (Rev. Randall Roche, SJ)

Director of the CSJ Center for Reconciliation and Justice (Sister Judith Royer, CSJ)

Director of the Marymount Institute for Faith, Culture, and the Arts (Theresia de Vroom)

Director of the Academy of Catholic Thought and Imagination (José García Moreno)

Director of the Center for Religion and Spirituality (Robert Hurteau)

Director of Resident Ministry (Dino Entac)

Director of the Center for Service and Action (Pam Rector)

Director of Jewish Student Life (Zachary Zysman)

Faculty Adviser to the Muslim Student Association (Amir Hussain)

Chair of the Faculty Committee on Mission and Identity (vacant)